GWL 27th December 1916

The third Christmas is over.  In some ways it was the best of the lot.  We had a very good dinner & smoke.  Bitterly cold now but no snow.  Christmas has been too much for the old, old men.  I gave them a very good feed.  Since then they have done nothing but make me curse.  Now I am getting my own back a bit.  They carry large burdens back and forth.  Nothing like shifting stones from one pile to another for silly old men.  Christmas was too much for the mess tent too.  It fell down and smashed itself.  I am sorry the writing is so bad, but my hands are freezing.  Last night I met a man who knew Ion at Grantham.  The holiday is very pleasant.  Only doing experimental work during it and no instructing.  It seems quaint that this is my seventh Christmas away form home and the third away from you.”

{next post 31st December}

Leave a Reply

